On-Site I.T Services Blog

"let us asisst you…"

Daily Archives: August 22, 2011

Ms Excel faulty; “Excel cannot open the file because the file format or extension is not valid”

I though this is the normal file extension problems, if you are using latest excel (*.xlsx) you’ll not be able to open the file on earlier MS Office Excel 2003 due to different file extensions (*.xls) yet this is more complex than that ;

My only clients backup files corrupted and she had no other copies, its her whole year todate info …hmm.. she urges me to recover them.. after reading and google-ing and trying every solutions suggested, im failed to recover the files.

I believed there’s still a way out of this, keep on searching  and finally i came to this post, suggesting, open the corrupted file using OpenOffice n Alhamdulilah..my problem solved ( i can see the smile on my clients face).